## 1992-1993

# THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

VOLUME 60

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1994

#### REPORTERS

TOM BIRCHALL GEOFF BRITTON TIM BRYANT ANTHONY CROCKER CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH MARTIN HINTON NICHOLAS ILES ELLIOIT JOHNSTON QC MELANIE LIITLE ANN MCLEAN D H PEEK M A PERRY

#### PRODUCTION EDITOR

CAROLYN ROBSON

Published in Sydney by The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© The Law Book Company Limited 1994

Typeset by the Law Book Company Ltd, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

#### JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

The Honourable Leonard James King, chief justice The Honourable Christopher John Legoe The Honourable Brian Rothwell Cox The Honourable Robert Finey Mohr The Honourable Robert Korant Matheson The Honourable Derek Willoughby Bollen The Honourable Derek Willoughby Bollen The Honourable Robin Rhodes Millhouse The Honourable Graham Clifton Prior The Honourable Leslie Trevor Olsson The Honourable John William Perry The Honourable Kevin Patrick Duggan The Honourable Edward Picton Mullighan The Honourable Bruce Malcolm Debelle The Honourable Margaret Jean Nyland

### ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SUMNER, MLC