1993-1994

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

VOLUME 61

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1994

REPORTERS

TOM BIRCHALL **GEOFF BRITTON** TIM BRYANT ANTHONY CROCKER KITTY DAVIS CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH MARTIN HINTON NICHOLAS ILES **ELLIOTT JOHNSTON OC** MELANIE LITTLE ANN McLEAN D H PEEK M A PERRY DAVID RIGGALL SYDNEY TILMOUTH OC

PRODUCTION EDITOR CAROLYN ROBSON

Published in Sydney by
The Law Book Company Limited
44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW
568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria
40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland
81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© The Law Book Company Limited 1994

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE LEONARD JAMES KING, CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN LEGOE (retired 22 April 1994)

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR

THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON

THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN

THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE

THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR

THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN

THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JOHN SUMNER, MLC