1993-1994

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

ELLIOTT JOHNSTON OC

VOLUME 62

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

1995

REPORTERS

TOM BIRCHALL
GEOFF BRITTON
TIM BRYANT
ANTHONY CROCKER
CASANDRA FRANCAS
DEBORAH FYFE
MATTHEW GOODE
PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH
MARTIN HINTON
NICHOLAS ILES
ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC
MELANIE LITTLE
M A PERRY
DAVID RIGGALL
SYDNEY TILMOUTH OC

PRODUCTION EDITOR SIMONE BROWN

Published in Sydney by The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© The Law Book Company Limited 1995

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, CHIEF JUSTICE (appointed 4 May 1994)

THE HONOURABLE LEONARD JAMES KING, CHIEF JUSTICE (retired 28 April 1994)

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR

THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON

THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN

THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE

THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR

THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN

THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC