1994-1995

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

VOLUME 63

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES

1995

REPORTERS

GEOFF BRITTON TIM BRYANT **THOMAS COX** ANTHONY CROCKER CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH MARTIN HINTON NICHOLAS ILES **ELLIOTT JOHNSTON OC** MELANIE LITTLE ANN McLEAN CLAIRE O'CONNOR ELIZABETH OLSSON D H PEEK M A PERRY DAVID RIGGALL SYDNEY TILMOUTH QC

PRODUCTION EDITOR SIMONE BROWN

.

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 568 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0049-1470

© 1995 The Law Book Company Ltd t/as LBC Information Services

Typeset by LBC Information Services, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, CHIEF JUSTICE (appointed 4 May 1995) THE HONOURABLE LEONARD JAMES KING, CHIEF JUSTICE (retired 28 April 1995) THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX THE HONOURABLE ROBERT FINEY MOHR (retired 28 July 1995) THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE HORTON CLEMENT WILLIAMS (appointed 31 August 1995)

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC