# 1995-1996

# THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

## VOLUME 66

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES

1996

#### REPORTERS

DAVID BAMFORD TOM BIRCHALL **GEOFF BRITTON** TIM BRYANT M A Cox **RICHARD FLETCHER** CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE ANDREW HALL PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH MARTIN HINTON NICHOLAS ILES MICHAEL JANUS **ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC** MELANIE LITTLE ANN McLEAN CLAIRE O'CONNOR ELIZABETH OLSSON MELISSA PERRY DAVID RIGGALL SYDNEY TILMOUTH OC

#### **PRODUCTION EDITOR**

CLEMENTINE MAK

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW

ISSN 0049-1470

© 1996 The Law Book Company Limited t/as LBC Information Services

Typeset by LBC Information Services, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

## JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

The Honourable John Jeremy Doyle, chief Justice The Honourable Brian Rothwell Cox The Honourable Roderick Grant Matheson The Honourable Derek Willoughby Bollen The Honourable Robin Rhodes Millhouse The Honourable Graham Clifton Prior The Honourable Leslie Trevor Olsson The Honourable Leslie Trevor Olsson The Honourable John William Perry The Honourable Kevin Patrick Duggan The Honourable Edward Picton Mullighan The Honourable Bruce Malcolm Debelle The Honourable Bruce Thomas Lander The Honourable Bruce Thomas Lander The Honourable Clement Williams

### ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC