1996-1997

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

VOLUME 67

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES

1997

REPORTERS

DAVID BAMFORD TOM BIRCHALL **GEOFF BRITTON** TIM BRYANT ANTHONY CROCKER **RICHARD FLETCHER** CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE ANDREW HALL NICHOLAS ILES MICHAEL JANUS **ELLIOTT JOHNSTON OC** MELANIE LITTLE ANN McLEAN CLAIRE O'CONNOR **ELIZABETH OLSSON** DAVID RIGGALL SYDNEY TILMOUTH QC

PRODUCTION EDITOR

CLEMENTINE MAK

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW

ISSN 0049-1470

© 1997 The Law Book Company Limited t/as LBC Information Services

Typeset by Mercier Typesetters, Granville, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN (retired 27 March 1997) THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE HORTON CLEMENT WILLIAMS THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN BLEBY (appointed 2 April 1997)

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC