1997-1998

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

VOLUME 70

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES

1998

REPORTERS

SAM ABBOTT NICHOLAS BAGOT GEOFF BRITTON JANE COX ANTHONY CROCKER **ROSEMARY DAVEY RICHARD FLETCHER** CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE MARTIN HINTON NICHOLAS ILES MICHAEL JANUS ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC MARTIN KEITH MELANIE LITTLE CLAIRE O'CONNOR **ELIZABETH OLSSON GEORGINA REID** DAVID RIGGALL BENJAMIN WICKHAM

PRODUCTION EDITOR

MARIE-CLAIRE MUIR

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0049-1470

© 1998 Thomson Professional Information Asia Pacific Pty Ltd t/as LBC Information Services

> Typeset by Mercier Typesetters, Granville, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND . THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE HORTON CLEMENT WILLIAMS THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN BLEBY THE HONOURABLE DEREK WILLOUGHBY BOLLEN (Acting Judge 1 September 1997 - 28 November 1997)

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC