# 1998

# THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

VOLUME 71

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES

1999

#### REPORTERS

SAM ABBOTT NICHOLAS BAGOT TOM BIRCHALL **GEOFF BRITTON** JANE COX ANTHONY CROCKER **ROSEMARY DAVEY RICHARD FLETCHER CASANDRA FRANCAS** MATTHEW GOODE MARTIN HINTON NICHOLAS ILES MICHAEL JANUS ELLIOTT JOHNSTON OC MARTIN KEITH MELANIE LITTLE ANN McLean CLAIRE O'CONNOR **GEORGINA REID** DAVID RIGGALL SYDNEY TILMOUTH QC BENJAMIN WICKHAM

#### **PRODUCTION EDITOR**

MARIE-CLAIRE MUIR

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0049-1470

© 1999 Thomson Professional Information Asia Pacific Pty Ltd t/as LBC Information Services

> Typeset by Mercier Typesetters, Granville, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

## JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON (retired 4 August 1998) THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE HORTON CLEMENT WILLIAMS THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN BLEBY THE HONOURABLE DAVID FRANK WICKS (appointed 13 August 1998)

## ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC