1998-1999

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

VOLUME 72

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES
1999

REPORTERS

SAM ABBOTT PAUL BLACK GEOFF BRITTON TIM BRYANT JANE COX **ANTHONY CROCKER** ROSEMARY DAVEY RICHARD FLETCHER CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH MARTIN HINTON NICHOLAS ILES MICHAEL JANUS **ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC** MARTIN KEITH MELANIE LITTLE RICHARD MELLOWS CLAIRE O'CONNOR **ELIZABETH OLSSON** GEORGINA REID DAVID RIGGALL JEREMY STORER SYDNEY TILMOUTH OC

PRODUCTION EDITOR
MARIE-CLAIRE MUIR

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0049-1470

© 1999 Thomson Professional Information Asia Pacific Pty Ltd t/as LBC Information Services

Typeset by Mercier Typesetters, Granville, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROTHWELL COX (retired 5 February 1999)

THE HONOURABLE RODERICK GRANT MATHESON (retired 4 August 1998)

THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE

THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR

THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN

THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER

THE HONOURABLE HORTON CLEMENT WILLIAMS

THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN BLEBY

THE HONOURABLE DAVID FRANK WICKS (Appointed 13 August 1998)

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN (Appointed 23 February 1999)

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC