1999

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

editor ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC

VOLUME 75

LBC INFORMATION SERVICES

2000

REPORTERS

SAM ABBOTT TOM BIRCHALL PAUL BLACK TIM BRYANT JANE COX ANTHONY CROCKER **ROSEMARY DAVEY RICHARD FLETCHER** CASANDRA FRANCAS MARTIN HINTON NICHOLAS ILES MICHAEL JANUS **ELLIOTT JOHNSTON OC** MARTIN KEITH MELANIE LITTLE CLAIRE O'CONNOR DAVID RIGGALL

PRODUCTION EDITOR

SASKIA ROGERS

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0049-1470

O 2000 Thomson Professional Information Asia Pacific Pty Ltd t/as LBC Information Services

Typeset by Mercier Typesetters, Granville, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE ROBIN RHODES MILLHOUSE (Retired 8 December 1999) THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE HORTON CLEMENT WILLIAMS THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN BLEBY THE HONOURABLE DAVID FRANK WICKS THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN THE HONOURABLE THOMAS ANDREW GRAY (Appointed 26 April 2000)

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC