2000

THE

SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR KELVYN PRESCOTT LLB, SM

VOLUME 77

LAWBOOK CO.

2001

REPORTERS

STUART COLE JANE COX CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE PAUL HEYWOOD-SMITH MARTIN HINTON MICHAEL JANUS ELLIOTT JOHNSTON QC RICHARD MELLOWS ELIZABETH OLSSON KELVYN PRESCOTT DAVID RIGGALL SYDNEY TILMOUTH QC

PRODUCTION EDITOR

BRONWYN JACOBS

Published in Sydney by

LAWBOOK CO.

A THOMSON COMPANY

© Thomson Legal & Regulatory Limited ABN 64 058 914 668 trading as Lawbook Co.

ISSN 0049-1470

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, CHIEF JUSTICE THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR THE HONOURABLE LESLIE TREVOR OLSSON THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER THE HONOURABLE HORTON CLEMENT WILLIAMS THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN BLEBY THE HONOURABLE DAVID FRANK WICKS THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN THE HONOURABLE THOMAS ANDREW GRAY

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE K TREVOR GRIFFIN, MLC