2002

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

EDITOR
KELVYN PRESCOTT LLB, CM

VOLUME 83

LAWBOOK CO 2003

REPORTERS

SAM ABBOTT BEN ALLGROVE JANE COX ANTHONY CROCKER CHRISTOPHER DIBB CASANDRA FRANCAS MATTHEW GOODE SIGRID HIGGINS MARTIN HINTON MARTIN KEITH MICHELLE PAINTER **TIM STEPHENS** JENNY STRATHEARN SU ANN TEOH BRANA VUKADINOVIC

PRODUCTION EDITOR

BRONWYN JACOBS

Published in Sydney by

LAWBOOK CO. A THOMSON COMPANY

© Thomson Legal & Regulatory Limited ABN 64 058 914 668 trading as Lawbook Co.















ISSN 0049-1470

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

THE HONOURABLE JOHN JEREMY DOYLE, AC, CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE GRAHAM CLIFTON PRIOR

THE HONOURABLE JOHN WILLIAM PERRY

THE HONOURABLE KEVIN PATRICK DUGGAN, AM

THE HONOURABLE EDWARD PICTON MULLIGHAN

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE MALCOLM DEBELLE

THE HONOURABLE MARGARET JEAN NYLAND

THE HONOURABLE BRUCE THOMAS LANDER

THE HONOURABLE HORTON CLEMENT WILLIAMS

THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN BLEBY

THE HONOURABLE DAVID FRANK WICKS

THE HONOURABLE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN

THE HONOURABLE THOMAS ANDREW GRAY

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ATKINSON