2011 - 2012

THE TASMANIAN REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

EDITOR L W MAHER

VOLUME 21

PUBLISHED FOR THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF TASMANIA BY

THOMSON REUTERS

2014

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR TASMANIA

CHAIRMAN The Hon Justice DAVID PORTER

MEMBERS

MICHAEL CRISP
SHAUN McELWAINE SC
LAURENCE MAHER (Editor)
Professor KATE WARNER

REPORTERS

BENEDICT BARTL
DR REBECCA BRADFIELD
ROLAND BROWN
FABIANO CANGELOSI
HELEN COCKBURN
JOHN DEWAR
GREGORY GEASON
CHRISTOPHER GROVES
ANTON HUGHES
SAM McCULLOUGH
ROBERT MEREDITH
KEN STANTON
KATE STEWART
JUSTIN ZEEMAN

Published by

Thomson Reuters 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0085-7106

THE JUDGES

OF THE

SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

DURING THE PERIOD COMPRISED IN THIS VOLUME

The Hon EWAN CHARLES CRAWFORD
Chief Justice

The Hon PETER ETHRINGTON EVANS
The Hon ALAN MICHAEL BLOW, OAM
The Hon SHAN EVE TENNENT
The Hon DAVID JAMES PORTER
The Hon HELEN MARIE WOOD

The Hon STEPHEN JAMES HOLT Associate Judge

ATTORNEY-GENERAL
The Hon BRIAN NEAL WIGHTMAN MHA

SOLICITOR-GENERAL
GEOFFREY LEIGH SEALY SC