2011 - 2015

THE TASMANIAN REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

EDITOR
L W MAHER

VOLUME 23

PUBLISHED FOR THE
COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING
OF TASMANIA BY

THOMSON REUTERS

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR TASMANIA

CHAIRMAN

The Hon Justice DAVID PORTER

MEMBERS

MICHAEL CRISP TODD KOVACIC LAURENCE MAHER (Editor) DR JANE NIELSEN JENNIFER RUDOLPH

REPORTERS

GREG BARNS
BENEDICT BARTL
ROLAND BROWNE
DAN COOMBES
ANTON HUGHES
GARTH O'RAFFERTY
KEN STANTON
SAM THOMPSON

Published by

Thomson Reuters 19 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0085-7106

THE JUDGES

OF THE

SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

DURING THE PERIOD COMPRISED IN THIS VOLUME

The Hon EWAN CHARLES CRAWFORD
Chief Justice

The Hon ALAN MICHAEL BLOW, •AM Chief Justice

The Hon PETER ETHRINGTON EVANS

The Hon ALAN MICHAEL BLOW, •AM

The Hon SHAN EVE TENNENT

The Hon DAVID JAMES PORTER

The Hon HELEN MARIE WOOD

The Hon STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT

The Hon ROBERT WILLIAM PEARCE

The Hon STEPHEN JAMES HOLT Associate Judge

ATTORNEYS-GENERAL

The Hon BRIAN NEAL WIGHTMAN MHA (Until 31 March 2014)

The Hon Dr VANESSA GOODWIN MLC (From 31 March 2014)

SOLICITORS-GENERAL

GEOFFREY LEIGH SEALY SC (Until 16 May 2014)

FRANCIS COUNSEL NEASEY (Acting, from 19 May 2014 until 31 August 2014)

MICHAEL ERNEST O'FARRELL SC (From 1 September 2014)

MEMORANDUM

On 10 November 2014, the Hon David Lindsey Harper AM QC was sworn in as an Acting Judge of the Supreme Court of Tasmania until the determination of a motion to review in the matter of *Ellis v Cardwell* and any applications for consequential orders. His Honour held office until 3 December 2014.