## 2013 - 2016

# THE TASMANIAN REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

> EDITOR L W MAHER

## VOLUME 24

PUBLISHED FOR THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF TASMANIA BY

THOMSON REUTERS

2018

## COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR TASMANIA

### CHAIRMAN

The Hon Justice DAVID JAMES PORTER (Until 21 May 2016) The Hon Justice STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT

#### **MEMBERS**

MICHAEL CRISP TODD KOVACIC LAURENCE MAHER (Editor) DR JANE NIELSEN JENNIFER RUDOLPH

## REPORTERS

BENEDICT BARTL ADAM BEESON ROLAND BROWNE CHRISTOPHER GROVES CLAIRE HENDERSON ANTON HUGHES RICHARD SCAIFE KEN STANTON

Published by

Thomson Reuters 19 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0085-7106

© The Council of Law Reporting for Tasmania

## THE JUDGES

## OF THE

## SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

## DURING THE PERIOD COMPRISED IN THIS VOLUME

The Hon EWAN CHARLES CRAWFORD Chief Justice (Until 7 April 2013) The Hon ALAN MICHAEL BLOW, OAM Chief Justice The Hon PETER ETHRINGTON EVANS (Until 7 June 2013) The Hon ALAN MICHAEL BLOW, OAM The Hon SHAN EVE TENNENT The Hon SHAN EVE TENNENT The Hon DAVID JAMES PORTER (Until 21 May 2016) The Hon HELEN MARIE WOOD The Hon STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT The Hon ROBERT WILLIAM PEARCE The Hon MICHAEL JOSEPH BRETT

The Hon STEPHEN JAMES HOLT Associate Judge

## ATTORNEYS-GENERAL

The Hon BRIAN NEAL WIGHTMAN MHA (Until 31 March 2014) The Hon Dr VANESSA GOODWIN MLC (From 31 March 2014)

#### SOLICITORS-GENERAL

GEOFFREY LEIGH SEALY sc (Until 16 May 2014) FRANCIS COUNSEL NEASEY (Acting, from 19 May 2014 until 31 August 2014) MICHAEL ERNEST O'FARRELL sc (From 1 September 2014)

#### **MEMORANDA**

On 10 March 2016, the Honourable PETER HEEREY AM, QC, was sworn in as an Acting Judge of the Supreme Court of Tasmania appointed to hear and determine the action *Wood* v *Retirement Benefits Fund Board*. His Honour held office until 22 March 2016.

On 21 May 2016, the Honourable DAVID JAMES PORTER a Judge of the Supreme Court of Tasmania since 26 May 2008 retired from office.

On 27 June 2016, MICHAEL JOSEPH BRETT was appointed as a Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Tasmania with effect from 11 July 2016 in place of the Honourable DAVID JAMES PORTER.

On 25 July 2016, the Honourable DAVID McCARTIN BYRNE QC, the Honourable Acting Justice ARTHUR ROBERT EMMETT AO and the Honourable Justice HUGH BARRON FRASER were sworn in as Acting Judges of the Supreme Court of Tasmania for a period until the determination of the appeal in the matter *Retirement Benefits Fund Board v Wood* and all applications for consequential orders. The Honours held office until 19 October 2016.