# 2013 - 2017

# THE TASMANIAN REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

EDITOR

L W MAHER

VOLUME 25

PUBLISHED FOR THE
COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING
OF TASMANIA BY

THOMSON REUTERS

2018

# COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR TASMANIA

# **CHAIRMAN**

The Hon Justice DAVID JAMES PORTER
(Until 21 May 2016)
The Hon Justice STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT AM

# *MEMBERS*

MICHAEL CRISP TODD KOVACIC LAURENCE MAHER (Editor) DR JANE NIELSEN JENNIFER RUDOLPH

# REPORTERS

GREG BARNS
BENEDICT BARTL
ADAM BEESON
ROLAND BROWNE
CLAIRE HENDERSON
NINA HUDSON
ANTON HUGHES
KEN STANTON

Published by

Thomson Reuters
19 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0085-7106

# THE JUDGES

#### OF THE

# SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

# DURING THE PERIOD COMPRISED IN THIS VOLUME

The Hon ALAN MICHAEL BLOW, OAM Chief Justice

The Hon SHAN EVE TENNENT
The Hon DAVID JAMES PORTER
(Until 21 May 2016)

The Hon HELEN MARIE WOOD
The Hon STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT
The Hon ROBERT WILLIAM PEARCE
The Hon MICHAEL JOSEPH BRETT

The Hon STEPHEN JAMES HOLT Associate Judge

ATTORNEYS-GENERAL
The Hon BRIAN NEAL WIGHTMAN MHA
(Until 31 March 2014)

The Hon Dr VANESSA GOODWIN MLC (From 31 March 2014)

SOLICITORS-GENERAL

GEOFFREY LEIGH SEALY SC (Until 16 May 2014)

FRANCIS COUNSEL NEASEY
(Acting, from 19 May 2014 until 31 August 2014)
MICHAEL ERNEST O'FARRELL SC
(From 1 September 2014)

# **MEMORANDA**

On 27 February 2017, the Honourable BRIAN ROSS MARTIN AO QC, the Honourable SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL, the Honourable Lautalatoa PIERRE WILLIAM SLICER AO QC and the Honourable DAVID JAMES PORTER QC were sworn in as part-time Acting Judges of the Supreme Court of Tasmania.

On 10 April 2017, the Honourable BERNARD DANIEL BONGIORNO AO QC was sworn in as a part-time Acting Judge of the Supreme Court of Tasmania.