2017-2021

THE TASMANIAN REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

EDITOR L W MAHER

VOLUME 32

PUBLISHED FOR THE
COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING
OF TASMANIA BY

THOMSON REUTERS

2022

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR TASMANIA

CHAIRMAN

The Hon Justice STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT AM

MEMBERS

MICHAEL CRISP TODD KOVACIC LAURENCE W MAHER (Editor) DR JANE NIELSEN JENNIFER RUDOLPH

REPORTERS

BENEDICT BARTL ROLAND BROWNE CHRISTOPHER GROVES JENNIFER O'FARRELL LEWIS RINGWALDT SAM THOMPSON

Published by

Thomson Reuters 19 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0085-7106

© The Council of Law Reporting for Tasmania

THE JUDGES

OF THE

SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

DURING THE PERIOD COMPRISED IN THIS VOLUME

The Hon ALAN MICHAEL BLOW, AO Chief Justice

The Hon SHAN EVE TENNENT (Until 3 November 2017)

The Hon HELEN MARIE WOOD
The Hon STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT AM
The Hon ROBERT WILLIAM PEARCE
The Hon MICHAEL JOSEPH BRETT
The Hon GREGORY PETER GEASON

The Hon STEPHEN JAMES HOLT Associate Judge

ACTING JUDGES

The following persons were appointed in 2017 as Acting Judges and in 2021 were appointed for a further two years:

The Hon DAVID JAMES PORTER, AM
The Hon SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL
The Hon BRIAN ROSS MARTIN AO

ATTORNEYS-GENERAL

The Hon Dr VANESSA GOODWIN MLC (From 31 March 2014 until 2 October 2017)

The Hon MATTHEW GROOM (Acting, from 4 April 2017 until 23 September 2017)

The Hon WILLIAM EDWARD FELIX HODGMAN (From 2 October 2017 until 21 March 2018)

The Hon ELISE ARCHER (From 21 March 2018)

SOLICITOR-GENERAL
MICHAEL ERNEST O'FARRELL SC

MEMORANDA

In 2021, the Honourable DAVID JAMES PORTER AM, the Honourable SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL and the Honourable BRIAN ROSS MARTIN AO were re-appointed as Acting Judges of the Supreme Court of Tasmania.