2020-2022

THE TASMANIAN REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

EDITOR L W MAHER

VOLUME 34

PUBLISHED FOR THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF TASMANIA BY

THOMSON REUTERS

2023

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR TASMANIA

CHAIRMAN

The Hon Justice STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT AM

MEMBERS

MICHAEL CRISP TODD KOVACIC LAURENCE W MAHER (Editor) DR JANE NIELSEN JENNIFER RUDOLPH

REPORTERS

BENEDICT BARTL ROLAND BROWNE CHRISTOPHER GROVES NINA HUDSON LEWIS RINGWALDT JACK TAMMENS

Published by

Thomson Reuters
19 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0085-7106

© The Council of Law Reporting for Tasmania

THE JUDGES

OF THE

SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

DURING THE PERIOD COMPRISED IN THIS VOLUME

The Hon ALAN MICHAEL BLOW, AO
Chief Justice
The Hon HELEN MARIE WOOD
The Hon STEPHEN PETER ESTCOURT AM
The Hon ROBERT WILLIAM PEARCE
The Hon MICHAEL JOSEPH BRETT
The Hon GREGORY PETER GEASON
The Hon TAMARA JAGO

The Hon STEPHEN JAMES HOLT Associate Judge

ACTING JUDGES

The following persons were appointed in 2017 as Acting Judges and in 2021 were appointed for a further two years:

The Hon DAVID JAMES PORTER, AM
The Hon SHANE RAYMOND MARSHALL
The Hon BRIAN ROSS MARTIN AO

ATTORNEY-GENERAL
The Hon ELISE ARCHER

SOLICITOR-GENERAL

MICHAEL ERNEST O'FARRELL SC
(resigned 24 December 2021)

SARAH KAY SC
(appointed 17 January 2022)