THE TASMANIAN REPORTS 1982

EDITOR:

F. D. Cumbrae-Stewart, E.D.

Barrister-at-Law

REPORTERS:

J. F. Anderson
B. H. F. Le Rossignol (Mrs)
M. F. Lillas
C. F. McKenzie
A. G. Melick
R. W. Pearce
P. J. A. Wright

Barristers-at-Law

PUBLISHED IN HOBART FOR
THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING
OF TASMANIA
BY THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

Published in Hobart by

The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde 389-393 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne 40 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 6 Sherwood Court, Perth

ISSN 0085-7106

© 1986 The Law Book Company Limited

Wholly set up and printed by The Law Book Company Limited, Sydney, N.S.W.

THE JUDGES

OF THE

SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA

DURING THE PERIOD COMPRISED IN THIS VOLUME

The Hon. Sir GUY STEPHEN MONTAGUE GREEN, K.B.E., Chief Justice

The Hon. FRANCIS MERVYN NEASEY
The Hon. ROBERT RICHARD NETTLEFOLD
The Hon. HENRY EDWARD COSGROVE
The Hon. MERVYN GEORGE EVERETT
The Hon. WILLIAM JOHN ELLIS COX

ATTORNEYS-GENERAL

The Hon. BRIAN KIRKWALL MILLER The Hon. MAX EARDLEY BINGHAM, Q.C.

SOLICITOR-GENERAL
ROGER CHRISTIE JENNINGS, Q.C.

MEMORANDA

On 2nd February, 1982, WILLIAM JOHN ELLIS COX Q.C., Crown Advocate, was appointed a judge of the Supreme Court in the place of Sir GEORGE HUNTER CRAWFORD, Kt.

On 15th February, 1982, the Honourable GUY STEPHEN MONTAGUE GREEN, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, was made a Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

On 27th May, 1982, BRIAN KIRKWALL MILLER resigned his office as Attorney-General and MAX EARDLEY BINGHAM, q.c., was appointed in his place.