1994-1995 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR
KENNETH J MARTIN, LLM

VOLUME 12

PUBLISHED BY
LBC INFORMATION SERVICES
1996

REPORTERS

A BEECH
A HENDERSON
J LANGE
K MARTIN
D MOEN
B SUANN

PRODUCTION EDITOR CAROLYN MAY

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 560 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0083-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 1996

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE DAVID KINGSLEY MALCOLM AC

Judges

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALEXANDER KENNEDY AO
THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM PAGE PIDGEON
THE HONOURABLE BARRY WILLIAM ROWLAND
THE HONOURABLE EDWARD MORRISSEY FRANKLYN
THE HONOURABLE TERENCE ALAN WALSH
THE HONOURABLE DAVID ANDREW IPP
THE HONOURABLE HENRY ALBERT WALLWORK
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN MCARTHUR ANDERSON
THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN
THE HONOURABLE GRAEME FREDERICK SCOTT
THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER
THE HONOURABLE KEVIN HORACE PARKER AO
THE HONOURABLE DESMOND CHARLES HEENAN

Masters

MANN SAU NG
THEODORE REGINALD BREDMEYER CBE
JOHN RENNELL ADAMS

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE BARRY WILLIAM ROWLAND

Members

E M HEENAN QC W S MARTIN QC C L ZELESTIS QC