# 1994-1996 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR KENNETH J MARTIN, LLM

**VOLUME 14** 

PUBLISHED BY LBC INFORMATION SERVICES 1997

#### REPORTERS

L GUMB A HENDERSON K MARTIN B MILLAR I MILLAR D MOEN M WHEATER

## PRODUCTION EDITOR CAROLYN MAY

Published in Sydney by LBC Information Services 50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0083-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 1997

Typeset by LBC Information Services, North Ryde, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

# SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

## **Chief Justice**

## THE HONOURABLE DAVID KINGSLEY MALCOLM AC

### Judges

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALEXANDER KENNEDY AO THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM PAGE PIDGEON THE HONOURABLE EDWARD MORRISSEY FRANKLYN THE HONOURABLE TERENCE ALAN WALSH THE HONOURABLE DAVID ANDREW IPP THE HONOURABLE HENRY ALBERT WALLWORK THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN MCARTHUR ANDERSON THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN THE HONOURABLE GRAEME FREDERICK SCOTT THE HONOURABLE GRAEME FREDERICK SCOTT THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER THE HONOURABLE KEVIN HORACE PARKER AO THE HONOURABLE DESMOND CHARLES HEENAN THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JOHN TEMPLEMAN

#### Masters

Mann Sau Ng Theodore Reginald Bredmeyer CBE

## COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTER

#### Members

E M HEENAN QC W S MARTIN QC C L ZELESTIS QC