1999-2000 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR
ANDREW BEECH

VOLUME 22

PUBLISHED BY
LAWBOOK CO.
2001

REPORTERS

MADELEINE COX
STEPHEN DAVIES
ANTHONY DERRICK
TINA DOAN
RICHARD HOOKER
CLAIRE JENSEN
JOSHUA THOMSON
JOHN VAUGHAN
ANTHONY WILLINGE

PRODUCTION EDITOR CAROLYN MAY

Published in Sydney by
Lawbook Co.
100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW
239 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland
77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0083-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 2001

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE DAVID KINGSLEY MALCOLM AC

Judges

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALEXANDER KENNEDY AO THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM PAGE PIDGEON THE HONOURABLE DAVID ANDREW IPP THE HONOURABLE HENRY ALBERT WALLWORK THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN MCARTHUR ANDERSON THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN THE HONOURABLE KERRY WHITE (retired 28 April 2000) THE HONOURABLE GRAEME FREDERICK SCOTT THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER THE HONOURABLE KEVIN HORACE PARKER AO THE HONOURABLE DESMOND CHARLES HEENAN THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JOHN TEMPLEMAN THE HONOURABLE CHRISTINE ANN WHEELER THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY PETER MILLER THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK MCKECHNIE THE HONOURABLE NICHOLAS PAUL HASLUCK

Masters

THEODORE REGINALD BREDMEYER CBE CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER

Members

E M HEENAN QC K J MARTIN QC W S MARTIN QC C L ZELESTIS QC