2002 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR

JOSHUA THOMSON

CONSULTING EDITOR
ANDREW BEECH

VOLUME 26

PUBLISHED BY
LAWBOOK CO.
2003

REPORTERS

Laura Christian Madeleine Cox Martin Cuerden Stephen Davies Anthony Derrick James Edelman Jessica Edis Michael Feutrill Kathleen Foley Ken Martin QC David Scully Joshua Thomson

PRODUCTION EDITOR CAROLYN MAY

Published in Sydney by
Lawbook Co.
100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW
239 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland
77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0083-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 2003

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE DAVID KINGSLEY MALCOLM AC

Judges

THE HONOURABLE HENRY ALBERT WALLWORK (retired 31 October 2002)

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN MCARTHUR ANDERSON THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN THE HONOURABLE GRAEME FREDERICK SCOTT THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER THE HONOURABLE KEVIN HORACE PARKER AO THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JOHN TEMPLEMAN THE HONOURABLE CHRISTINE ANN WHEELER THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY PETER MILLER THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK MCKECHNIE THE HONOURABLE NICHOLAS PAUL HASLUCK THE HONOURABLE LEONARD WILLIAM ROBERTS-SMITH THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY MCLURE THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JAMES LONSDALE PULLIN THE HONOURABLE ERIC MICHAEL HEENAN THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LAURENCE BARKER

Master

CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER

Members

E M HEENAN QC K J MARTIN QC W S MARTIN QC C L ZELESTIS QC