# 2002-2003 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

## Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR

JOSHUA THOMSON

CONSULTING EDITOR
ANDREW BEECH

VOLUME 27

PUBLISHED BY
LAWBOOK CO.
2004

#### REPORTERS

LEE CARROLL
MADELEINE COX
MARTIN CUERDEN
LYNETTE DIAS
JAMES EDELMAN
MICHAEL FEUTRILL
KATHLEEN FOLEY
SIMINA GOUGOULIS
PETER QUINLAN
DAVID SCULLY
JOSHUA THOMSON
ANTHONY WILLINGE

### PRODUCTION EDITOR CAROLYN MAY

Published in Sydney by
Lawbook Co.
100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW
239 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland
77 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0083-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 2004

#### SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

#### Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE DAVID KINGSLEY MALCOLM AC

#### Judges

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JOHN MCARTHUR ANDERSON (retired 1 December 2003)

THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN

GRAEME FREDERICK THE HONOURABLE SCOTT (retired 19 December 2003)

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER

KEVIN HORACE PARKER THE HONOURABLE AO (retired 1 December 2003)

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JOHN TEMPLEMAN THE HONOURABLE CHRISTINE ANN WHEELER THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY PETER MILLER THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK MCKECHNIE THE HONOURABLE NICHOLAS PAUL HASLUCK AM THE HONOURABLE LEONARD WILLIAM ROBERTS-SMITH THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY MCLURE

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JAMES LONSDALE PULLIN THE HONOURABLE ERIC MICHAEL HEENAN

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LAURENCE BARKER

THE HONOURABLE NARELLE JOHNSON (appointed 31 July 2003)

HONOURABLE THE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE (appointed 2 February 2004)

THE CAROLYN FRANCES **JENKINS** HONOURABLE (appointed 2 February 2004)

THE RALPH LLOYD SIMMONDS HONOURABLE (appointed 23 February 2004)

#### Masters

CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON DAVID WALLACE NEWNES

### COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

#### Chairman

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER

#### Members

K J MARTIN QC W S MARTIN QC C L ZELESTIS QC