2005-2006 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR

JOSHUA THOMSON

CONSULTING EDITOR
ANDREW BEECH

VOLUME 31

LAWBOOK CO.

2006

REPORTERS

SASHA ALLISON
STEPHEN DAVIËS
KANAGA DHARMANANDA
CATHIE DICKINSON
JASON MacLAURIN
JOSEPH McGRATH
DREW D PEARSON
JOSHUA THOMSON
KAREN VERNON

PRODUCTION EDITOR
CAROLYN MAY

Published in Sydney by Lawbook Co. 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0083-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 2006

Typeset by Lawbook Co., Pyrmont, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE DAVID KINGSLEY MALCOLM, AC (retired 7 February 2006)

THE HONOURABLE WAYNE STEWART MARTIN (appointed 27 April 2006)

COURT OF APPEAL

President

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER

Judges

THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN
THE HONOURABLE CHRISTINE ANN WHEELER
THE HONOURABLE LEONARD WILLIAM ROBERTS-SMITH, RFD
THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY McLURE
THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JAMES LONSDALE PULLIN
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS (appointed on 1 February 2006)

GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY
THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JOHN TEMPLEMAN
THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY PETER MILLER
THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK McKECHNIE
THE HONOURABLE NICHOLAS PAUL HASLUCK, AM
THE HONOURABLE ERIC MICHAEL HEENAN
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LAURENCE BARKER
THE HONOURABLE NARELLE JOHNSON
THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE
THE HONOURABLE CAROLYN FRANCES JENKINS
THE HONOURABLE RALPH LLOYD SIMMONDS
THE HONOURABLE PETER DONALD BLAXELL

Masters

CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON DAVID WALLACE NEWNES

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY McLURE

Members

K J MARTIN, QC C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC AR BEECH SC