2007-2008 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR

JOSHUA THOMSON

VOLUME 35

LAWBOOK CO.

2008

REPORTERS

GREGORY DALE
HOLLIS DUFOUR
JOSEPH GARAS
CAMILLE GOUCKE
ELSPETH HENSLER
ANTHONY LEPERE
ANTHONY PAPAMATHEOS
MINAL SHAH
SHANE STEWART

PRODUCTION EDITOR CAROLYN MAY

Published in Sydney by Lawbook Co. 100 Harris Street, Pyrmont, NSW

ISSN 0083-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 2008

Typeset by Lawbook Co., Pyrmont, NSW Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE WAYNE STEWART MARTIN COURT OF APPEAL

President

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER DAVID STEYTLER

Judges

THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN
THE HONOURABLE CHRISTINE ANN WHEELER
THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY McLURE
THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JAMES LONSDALE PULLIN
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS
THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY PETER MILLER

GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY
THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JOHN TEMPLEMAN
THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK McKECHNIE
THE HONOURABLE NICHOLAS PAUL HASLUCK, AM
THE HONOURABLE ERIC MICHAEL HEENAN
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LAURENCE BARKER
THE HONOURABLE NARELLE JOHNSON
THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE
THE HONOURABLE CAROLYN FRANCES JENKINS
THE HONOURABLE RALPH LLOYD SIMMONDS
THE HONOURABLE PETER DONALD BLAXELL
THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH
THE HONOURABLE DAVID WALLACE NEWNES

Master

CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY McLURE

Members

K J MARTIN, QC C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC