2008 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR JOSHUA THOMSON

VOLUME 37

LAWBOOK CO.

2009

REPORTERS

PETER CLAY GARY COBBY GREGORY DALE HOLLIS DUFOUR CAMILLE GOUCKE ELSPETH HENSLER CARITA KAZAKOFF STUART PACKHAM SHANE GEOFFREY STEWART

PRODUCTION EDITORS

CAROLYN MAY MYUNG COLE

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 2009



© 2009 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Lawbook Co.

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood NSW

ISSN 0083-8764

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE WAYNE STEWART MARTIN

COURT OF APPEAL

Judges

THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN THE HONOURABLE CHRISTINE ANN WHEELER THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY MCLURE THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JAMES LONSDALE PULLIN THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY PETER MILLER THE HONOURABLE DAVID WALLACE NEWNES

GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JOHN TEMPLEMAN THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK MCKECHNIE THE HONOURABLE NICHOLAS PAUL HASLUCK, AM THE HONOURABLE ERIC MICHAEL HEENAN THE HONOURABLE NARELLE JOHNSON THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE THE HONOURABLE CAROLYN FRANCES JENKINS THE HONOURABLE RALPH LLOYD SIMMONDS THE HONOURABLE PETER DONALD BLAXELL THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH THE HONOURABLE JOHN ANTHONY CHANEY THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN THE HONOURABLE GRAEME HAROLD MURPHY THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN DAVID HALL (appointed 3 July 2009)

Master

CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY MCLURE

Members

C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC