2008-2009 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

The Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR JOSHUA THOMSON

VOLUME 39

LAWBOOK CO.

2010

REPORTERS RICHARD W DOUGLAS

PRODUCTION EDITORS CAROLYN MAY MYUNG COLE

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 2010



© 2010 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668 Published in Sydney

Lawbook Co.

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood NSW

ISSN 0083-8764

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE WAYNE STEWART MARTIN

COURT OF APPEAL

President

THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY McLURE (appointed President of the Court of Appeal 17 November 2009)

Judges

THE HONOURABLE NEVILLE JOHN OWEN (retired 2 July 2010) THE HONOURABLE CHRISTINE ANN WHEELER (retired 2 March 2010) THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JAMES LONSDALE PULLIN THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY PETER MILLER (retired 11 December 2009) THE HONOURABLE DAVID WALLACE NEWNES

GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JOHN TEMPLEMAN THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK McKECHNIE THE HONOURABLE NICHOLAS PAUL HASLUCK. AM (retired 7 May 2010) THE HONOURABLE ERIC MICHAEL HEENAN THE HONOURABLE NARELLE JOHNSON THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE THE HONOURABLE CAROLYN FRANCES JENKINS THE HONOURABLE RALPH LLOYD SIMMONDS THE HONOURABLE PETER DONALD BLAXELL THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH THE HONOURABLE JOHN ANTHONY CHANEY THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN THE HONOURABLE GRAEME HAROLD MURPHY THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN DAVID HALL

Master

CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY MCLURE

Members

C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC