2010-2012 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

The Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR
SAM VANDONGEN SC

CONSULTING EDITOR JOSHUA THOMSON

VOLUME 42

LAWBOOK CO.

2012

REPORTERS

JAYE ALDERSON CHEYNE BEETHAM PETER CLAY ELSPETH HENSLER JOE VENEZIANO WILLIAM YOO

PRODUCTION EDITOR
MYUNG COLE

© State of Western Australia (2012)

This publication is copyright. Except as permitted under the *Copyright Act 1968*, no part of this publication may be reproduced or communicated by any process without the prior written permission of the Attorney General of Western Australia.



© 2012 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited

ABN 64 058 914 668

Published in Sydney

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE WAYNE STEWART MARTIN

COURT OF APPEAL

President

THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY McLURE

Judges

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER JAMES LONSDALE PULLIN
THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS
THE HONOURABLE DAVID WALLACE NEWNES
THE HONOURABLE GRAEME HAROLD MURPHY
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT ANTHONY MAZZA

GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN MURRAY (retired, 15 January 2012) THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK McKECHNIE THE HONOURABLE ERIC MICHAEL HEENAN THE HONOURABLE NARELLE JOHNSON THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE THE HONOURABLE CAROLYN FRANCES JENKINS THE HONOURABLE RALPH LLOYD SIMMONDS THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH THE HONOURABLE JOHN ANTHONY CHANEY THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN DAVID HALL THE HONOURABLE EDWIN MICHAEL CORBOY THE HONOURABLE JANINE PRITCHARD THE HONOURABLE JEREMY DAVID ALLANSON THE HONOURABLE JAMES JOSHUA EDELMAN

Master

CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN

Editor

SAM VANDONGEN SC

Members

C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC