# 2014-2015 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

The Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR SAM VANDONGEN SC

CONSULTING EDITOR JOSHUA THOMSON SC

# VOLUME 48

LAWBOOK CO.

2015

#### REPORTERS

ROBERT CLARKE PETER CLAY CLAUDIA HENFRY MICHELLE LINEHAN TOM PORTER ALEXANDER VIAL

# PRODUCTION EDITOR LINDA PEARSON

© State of Western Australia (2015)

This publication is copyright. Except as permitted under the *Copyright Act* 1968, no part of this publication may be reproduced or communicated by any process without the prior written permission of the Attorney General of Western Australia.



2015 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Published in Sydney

Lawbook Co.

ISSN 0083-8764

#### SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

#### **Chief Justice**

THE HONOURABLE WAYNE STEWART MARTIN

# COURT OF APPEAL

#### President

THE HONOURABLE CARMEL JOY MCLURE

Judges

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS THE HONOURABLE DAVID WALLACE NEWNES THE HONOURABLE GRAEME HAROLD MURPHY THE HONOURABLE ROBERT ANTHONY MAZZA

### GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE JOHN RODERICK McKECHNIE (retired 22 April 2015) THE HONOURABLE ERIC MICHAEL HEENAN (retired 23 June 2015) THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE THE HONOURABLE CAROLYN FRANCES JENKINS THE HONOURABLE RALPH LLOYD SIMMONDS THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH THE HONOURABLE JOHN ANTHONY CHANEY THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN DAVID HALL THE HONOURABLE EDWIN MICHAEL CORBOY THE HONOURABLE JANINE PRITCHARD THE HONOURABLE JEREMY DAVID ALLANSON THE HONOURABLE JAMES JOSHUA EDELMAN (resigned 19 April 2015) THE HONOURABLE JEREMY CLIVE CURTHOYS THE HONOURABLE ROBERT MACKENZIE MITCHELL THE HONOURABLE PAUL ALLAN TOTTLE (appointed 10 August 2015) THE HONOURABLE BRUNO FIANNACA (appointed 31 August 2015)

## Master CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

#### EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

# Chairman THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN

Editor SAM VANDONGEN SC

Members C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC JOSHUA THOMSON SC