2017-2018 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

The Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR SAM VANDONGEN SC

CONSULTING EDITOR JOSHUA THOMSON SC

VOLUME 53

LAWBOOK CO.

2019

REPORTERS

ROBERT CLARKE MICHELLE LINEHAN GREGORY STOCKTON

PRODUCTION EDITOR ANNE MOK

© State of Western Australia (2019)

This publication is copyright. Except as permitted under the *Copyright Act* 1968, no part of this publication may be reproduced or communicated by any process without the prior written permission of the Attorney General of Western Australia.



2019 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Lawbook Co.

Published in Sydney

ISSN 0083-8764

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE WAYNE STEWART MARTIN (retired 27 July 2018)

THE HONOURABLE PETER DAMIEN QUINLAN (appointed 13 August 2018)

COURT OF APPEAL

President

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS

Judges

THE HONOURABLE GRAEME HAROLD MURPHY THE HONOURABLE ROBERT ANTHONY MAZZA THE HONOURABLE ROBERT MACKENZIE MITCHELL THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH THE HONOURABLE JANINE CLARE PRITCHARD (appointed to the Court of Appeal on 13 September 2018)

GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE THE HONOURABLE CAROLYN FRANCES JENKINS THE HONOURABLE JOHN ANTHONY CHANEY (retired 29 June 2018) THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN DAVID HALL THE HONOURABLE EDWIN MICHAEL CORBOY THE HONOURABLE JEREMY DAVID ALLANSON THE HONOURABLE JEREMY CLIVE CURTHOYS THE HONOURABLE PETER DOMINIC MARTINO (retired 27 April 2018) THE HONOURABLE PAUL ALLAN TOTTLE THE HONOURABLE BRUNO FIANNACA THE HONOURABLE KATRINA BANKS-SMITH (resigned 12 February 2018) THE HONOURABLE JOSEPH McGRATH THE HONOURABLE GAIL ANN ARCHER THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY SAMUEL DERRICK (appointed 6 March 2018) THE HONOURABLE JOHN CAMERON VAUGHAN (appointed 30 April 2018) THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER HILDA SMITH (appointed 27 June 2018) THE HONOURABLE LARISSA STRK (appointed an Acting Justice 1 November 2018)

Master CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Chairman THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN

Editor SAM VANDONGEN SC

Members C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC JOSHUA THOMSON SC