2017-2020 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

The Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR
SAM VANDONGEN SC

VOLUME 55

LAWBOOK CO.

2020

REPORTERS

RAY CHRISTENSEN ROBERT CLARKE MICHELLE LINEHAN SHANE STEWART GREGORY STOCKTON ALEXANDER VIAL

PRODUCTION EDITOR ANNE MOK

© State of Western Australia (2020)

This publication is copyright. Except as permitted under the *Copyright Act 1968*, no part of this publication may be reproduced or communicated by any process without the prior written permission of the Attorney General of Western Australia.



2021 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

Lawbook Co.

ISSN 0083-8764

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE PETER DAMIEN QUINLAN

COURT OF APPEAL

President

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS

Judges

THE HONOURABLE GRAEME HAROLD MURPHY
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT ANTHONY MAZZA
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT MACKENZIE MITCHELL
THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH
THE HONOURABLE JANINE CLARE PRITCHARD
THE HONOURABLE JOHN CAMERON VAUGHAN
(appointed to the Court of Appeal on 4 June 2019)

GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE THE HONOURABLE CAROLYN FRANCES JENKINS (retired 30 January 2020)

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN
THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN DAVID HALL
THE HONOURABLE EDWIN MICHAEL CORBOY
THE HONOURABLE JEREMY DAVID ALLANSON
THE HONOURABLE JEREMY CLIVE CURTHOYS
THE HONOURABLE PAUL ALLAN TOTTLE

THE HONOURABLE BRUNO FIANNACA
THE HONOURABLE JOSEPH McGRATH
THE HONOURABLE GAIL ANN ARCHER
THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY SAMUEL DERRICK

THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER HILDA SMITH

THE HONOURABLE LARISSA STRK (appointed an Acting Justice 1 November 2018 until 30 June 2019)
THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER MARY HILL (appointed 4 June 2019)

Master CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN

Editor

SAM VANDONGEN SC

Members

C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC JOSHUA THOMSON SC