1975

WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorized Law Reports of The SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

> EDITOR ROBERT ANDERSON, LL.B.

> > Reporters

ERIC J. EDWARDS B.A., LL.B., S.J.D., BARRISTER-AT-LAW

> HENRY WALLWORK LL.B., BARRISTER-AT-LAW

PAUL NICHOLS B.A., LL.B., Barrister-at-Law

MALCOLM CAMERON LEE LL.B., BARRISTER-AT-LAW

RODNEY E. L. GREAVES LL.M., BARRISTER-AT-LAW

Published for the COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

ΒY

BUTTERWORTHS

AUSTRALIA

1975

AUSTRALIA:

BUTTERWORTHS PTY LTD 586 Pacific Highway, Chatswood 2067 343 Little Collins Street, Melbourne 3000 Commonwealth Bank Building, King George's Square, Brisbane 4000 48 Fullerton Road, Norwood, SA 5067 49-51 St George's Terrace, Perth 6000

NEW ZEALAND:

BUTTERWORTHS OF NEW ZEALAND LTD New Zealand Law Society Building, 26-28 Waring Taylor Street, Wellington 1

ENGLAND:

BUTTERWORTH & CO (PUBLISHERS) LTD 88 Kingsway, London, WC2B 6AB

CANADA:

BUTTERWORTH & CO (CANADA) LTD 2265 Midland Avenue, Scarborough, Ontario M1P 4S1

SOUTH AFRICA:

BUTTERWORTH & CO (SA) (PTY) LTD 152-154 Gale Street, Durban 4001

UNITED STATES:

BUTTERWORTHS (PUBLISHERS) INC 19 Cummings Park, Woburn, Massachusetts 01801

ISBN • 409 34000 6 (Set) ISBN • 409 34245 9 (Volume)

©Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 1975

This book is copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purposes of private study, research, criticism or review, as permitted under the Copyright Act, no part may be reproduced by any process without written permission. Inquiries should be addressed to the publishers. Registered in Australia for transmission by post as a book

Printed in Australia by Hogbin Poole Printers Pty. Ltd. for the publishers Butterworths Pty. Limited.

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE SIR LAWRENCE WALTER JACKSON, K.C.M.G.

Judges

The Honourable John Evenden Virtue The Honourable Francis Theodore Page Burt The Honourable John Martin Lavan The Honourable John Leonard Clifton Wickham The Honourable Alkin Robert Alexander Wallace The Honourable Robert Edmund Jones The Honourable George Dundas Wright

5

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman The Honourable Francis Theodore Page Burt

Members

E. J. Edwards, b.a., ll.b., s.j.d. R. J. Anderson, ll.b. E. M. Heenan, ll.b.