1990 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

Authorized Law Reports of The SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR KENNETH J MARTIN, LLM

PUBLISHED BY

THE LAW BOOK COMPANY LIMITED

AUSTRALIA

Published in Sydney by

The Law Book Company Limited 44-50 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 490 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 40 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 81 St George's Terrace, Perth, WA

ISSN 0083-8764

© Council of Law Reporting of Western Australia 1990

Wholly set up and printed by The Law Book Company Limited, Sydney, NSW

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE DAVID KINGSLEY MALCOLM

Judges

THE HONOURABLE ALKIN ROBERT ALEXANDER WALLACE THE HONOURABLE PETER FREDERICK BRINSDEN THE HONOURABLE CHARLES HOWARD SMITH THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ALEXANDER KENNEDY THE HONOURABLE WILLIAM PAGE PIDGEON THE HONOURABLE BARRY WILLIAM ROWLAND THE HONOURABLE EDWARD MORRISSEY FRANKLYN THE HONOURABLE PAUL LAURENCE SEAMAN THE HONOURABLE ROBERT DAVID NICHOLSON THE HONOURABLE TERENCE ALAN WALSH THE HONOURABLE TERENCE ALAN WALSH THE HONOURABLE DAVID ANDREW IPP THE HONOURABLE HENRY ALBERT WALLWORK

COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE BARRY WILLIAM ROWLAND

Members

E M HEENAN, QC W S MARTIN, LLB C L ZELESTIS, LLB