## 2023

## THE

# AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

EDITOR
BRYAN MEAGHER SC

ASSISTANT EDITOR
RICHARD DAVIES

VOLUME 20

LAWBOOK CO.

2024

### SENIOR REPORTERS

RICHARD DAVIES BRYAN MEAGHER SC WAYNE SHARWOOD

> **REPORTER** EMMA ROFF

PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR
MYUNG COLE



© 2024 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW ISSN 0813-7803

# SUPREME COURT OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

#### CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE LUCY McCALLUM

#### **JUDGES**

THE HONOURABLE DAVID MOSSOP

THE HONOURABLE CHRISSA LOUKAS-KARLSSON

THE HONOURABLE BELINDA BAKER

THE HONOURABLE VERITY ALEXANDRA McWILLIAM (appointed 2 May 2023)

THE HONOURABLE LOUISE TAYLOR (appointed 16 August 2023)

## ADDITIONAL JUDGES FROM THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

THE HONOURABLE STEVEN DAVID RARES (retired 14 November 2023)

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO

THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ANDREW WIGNEY

THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH

THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JAMES BROMWICH

THE HONOURABLE NATALIE CHARLESWORTH

THE HONOURABLE KATRINA BANKS-SMITH

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEE

THE HONOURABLE THOMAS THAWLEY

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL WHEELAHAN

THE HONOURABLE ANGUS STEWART

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL O'BRYAN

THE HONOURABLE STEWART ANDERSON

THE HONOURABLE WENDY ABRAHAM

THE HONOURABLE PATRICK O'SULLIVAN

## **ACTING JUDGES**

TITE	HONOLID	ADIE	DODEDT	CDOWE
THE.	HONOUR	ABLE	KUBERT	CKCWF

THE HONOURABLE PETER BERMAN

THE HONOURABLE AUDREY BALLA

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD REFSHAUGE

THE HONOURABLE JOHN BURNS

THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN NORRISH

THE HONOURABLE GREG CURTIN SC

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ELKAIM SC

THE HONOURABLE ANNE AINSLIE-WALLACE

THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN KAYE

THE HONOURABLE REBECCA CHRISTENSEN SC

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY HOPKINS