2023

THE

FEDERAL COURT REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

EDITOR VICTOR KLINE

CONSULTING EDITORS
DR OREN BIGOS KC
DAVID ASH

VOLUME 300

LAWBOOK CO.

2024

SENIOR REPORTERS

SAMUEL CUMMINGS
ELENI KANNIS
VICTOR KLINE
RAFFAELE PICCOLO

REPORTERFRANCIS CARDELL-OLIVER

PRODUCTION EDITOR MYUNG COLE



 $\ \ \,$ © 2024 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited Lawbook Co. ABN 64 058 914 668 Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW ISSN 0813-7803

FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE DEBRA SUE MORTIMER

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY JAMES BESANKO (retired 7 May 2024)

THE HONOURABLE JOHN ALEXANDER LOGAN, RFD

THE HONOURABLE NYE PERRAM

THE HONOURABLE JOHN VICTOR NICHOLAS

THE HONOURABLE DAVID MARKEY YATES

THE HONOURABLE MORDECAI BROMBERG

THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN

THE HONOURABLE BERNARD MURPHY

THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL WIGNEY

THE HONOURABLE MELISSA PERRY

THE HONOURABLE JONATHAN BARRY RASHLEIGH BEACH

THE HONOURABLE BRIGITTE SANDRA MARKOVIC

THE HONOURABLE MARK KRANZ MOSHINSKY

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT BROMWICH

THE HONOURABLE NATALIE CHARLESWORTH

THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN BURLEY

THE HONOURABLE DAVID JOHN O'CALLAGHAN

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL BRYAN JOSHUA LEE

THE HONOURABLE ROGER MARC DERRINGTON

THE HONOURABLE SARAH CATHERINE DERRINGTON AM

THE HONOURABLE KATRINA FRANCES BANKS-SMITH

THE HONOURABLE CRAIG GRIERSON COLVIN

THE HONOURABLE THOMAS MICHAEL THAWLEY

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL FRANCIS WHEELAHAN

THE HONOURABLE ANGUS MORKEL STEWART

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL HUGH O'BRYAN

THE HONOURABLE DARREN JOHN JACKSON

THE HONOURABLE JOHN LESLIE SNADEN

THE HONOURABLE STEWART MAXWELL ANDERSON

THE HONOURABLE WENDY JANE ABRAHAM

THE HUNUUKABLE WENDY JANE ABRAHAM

THE HONOURABLE JOHN HALLEY

THE HONOURABLE ELIZABETH CHEESEMAN

THE HONOURABLE HELEN MARY JOAN ROFE

THE HONOURABLE KYLIE ELIZABETH DOWNES

THE HONOURABLE SCOTT ANTHONY GOODMAN

THE HONOURABLE PATRICK O'SULLIVAN

THE HONOURABLE SHAUN BRENDAN McELWAINE

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JAMES FEUTRILL
THE HONOURABLE FIONA MEAGHER

THE HONOURABLE THACTURAN EVON

THE HONOURABLE TIMOTHY McEVOY

THE HONOURABLE LISA HESPE

THE HONOURABLE ELIZABETH RAPER

THE HONOURABLE GEOFFREY ROSS KENNETT

THE HONOURABLE CATHERINE GAIL BUTTON

THE HONOURABLE IAN McNEIL JACKMAN

THE HONOURABLE ADAM HATCHER

THE HONOURABLE EMILIOS KYROU AO

THE HONOURABLE CHRISTOPHER HORAN

THE HONOURABLE YASEEN SHARIFF

THE HONOURABLE PENELOPE ANNA NESKOVCIN

THE HONOURABLE CRAIG WILLIAM DOWLING

FOREWORD

by THE HONOURABLE CHIEF JUSTICE MORTIMER

The proposal to create a Federal Court was not without controversy.¹ Its early jurisdiction largely absorbed the jurisdictions of the Bankruptcy and Industrial Courts, with some other specified matters of federal jurisdiction, such as jurisdiction in federal administrative law and trade practices matters.² Almost 50 years on, the Court's jurisdiction has expanded and developed significantly, and its reputation has remained high across all its practice areas.

The Court has grown from its original 19 Judges to 54 Judges at the time of writing. The Court's original jurisdiction now derives from over 260 statutes,³ with significant early expansions due to the Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act 1977 (Cth) and the introduction and subsequent amendments of s 39B of the Judiciary Act 1903 (Cth). ⁴ The Native Title Act 1993 (Cth) provides the Court with a unique and important function of adjudicating, and facilitating the resolution of, native title determination applications and compensation applications amongst other matters. The Court's migration caseload has grown significantly over the years and has resulted in this Court being a leader in the development of Australian administrative law. The Court's jurisdiction in defamation has grown in recent years, and the Court has an expanding federal criminal jurisdiction. The Court exercises a substantial and diverse appellate jurisdiction, hearing appeals from the decisions of single Judges, from the Federal Circuit and Family Court, and from other courts exercising certain federal jurisdiction. It remains one of the only courts exercising its complete original and appellate jurisdiction amongst the same group of Judges. Since 2016, the Court has organised its work into nine National Practice Areas, which allows the Court to operate as a truly national Court.

The first volume of the *Federal Court Reports* was published in 1984. Forty years on, the *Federal Court Reports* now marks the publication of its 300th volume. For a court with such a broad and busy jurisdiction, the production of a dedicated authorised report series was a natural and important step. The *Federal Court Reports* series allows Judges, practitioners, students and the academy to engage closely with carefully selected jurisprudence of the Court, enhanced by careful editing and the preparation of headnotes which are of significant assistance to those consulting the reports.

¹ Hon Sir Gerard Brennan AC KBE GBS, 'Creation of the Federal Court: A Reflection' (2017) 91 ALJ 461.

² Ibid.

³ Federal Court of Australia, *Acts which confer jurisdiction* (www.fedcourt.gov.au/about/jurisdiction/acts).

⁴ Brennan (2017) 91 ALJ 461 at 469-470.

The Federal Court Reports have been under the experienced stewardship of Mr Victor Kline since 1990 or Volume 21. Mr Kline's service deserves prominent acknowledgement. He has the thanks of all the Judges and staff, and former Judges and staff, of the Federal Court. Mr Kline has been assisted by dedicated reporters over the years, who are always diligent and thoughtful in carrying out their task. The Court is grateful for the continued efforts of the Federal Court Reports' editorial team and wishes them all the best on this occasion.