2016-2020 THE NORTHERN TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF THE DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF DR CAMERON FORD

VOLUMES 41-42

THOMSON REUTERS

2023

REPORTERS

DR CAMERON FORD ANTHONY CHEAH NICHOLLS MAJA ROGOZIK ISABEL ROPER



© 2023 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited ABN 64 058 914 668

Published in Sydney

© The Northern Territory Council of Law Reporting Inc Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 1038-9237

Lawbook Co.

THE COUNCIL OF LAW REPORTING FOR THE NORTHERN TERRITORY INC

CHAIRPERSON THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE SONIA BROWNHILL

EDITOR IN CHIEF DR CAMERON FORD

EDITORS PROF ELIZABETH SPENCER DR GUZYAL HILL IAN READ SC TAMARA GREALY TREVOR MOSES

SECRETARY AND PUBLIC OFFICER CRAIG SMYTH

> TREASURER MELISSA YATES

SUPREME COURT OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

DURING THE CURRENCY OF THIS VOLUME

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE MICHAEL GRANT

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE STEPHEN ROGER SOUTHWOOD THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JUDITH CLAIRE KELLY THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JENNY MAY BLOKLAND THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE PETER MARTIN BARR THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE GRAHAM HILEY RFD THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE SONIA BROWNHILL THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN BURNS THE HONOURABLE ASSOCIATE JUSTICE VINCE LUPPINO

ADDITIONAL JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN EDWARD REEVES THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE JOHN RONALD MANSFIELD AM

ACTING JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE TREVOR JOHN RILEY THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE BRIAN ROSS MARTIN AO THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE DEAN MILDREN AM RFD THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE ANTHONY GRAHAM

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

THE HONOURABLE NATASHA FYLES THE HONOURABLE SELENA UIB