2022-2023

THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE REPORTS

GENERAL EDITOR HIS HONOUR JUDGE HANDSHIN KC Judge of the District Court of South Australia

VOLUME 142

LAWBOOK CO 2024

SENIOR REPORTER DAVID KELLY

REPORTERS

MITCHELL BRUNKER
SAMUEL CUMMINGS
ALISON DOECKE KC
NICHOLAS GRIFFIN
RAFFAELE PICCOLO
TOM POWELL
AARAHNAN RAGURAGAVAN
STEPHEN RANIERI



© 2024 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited

ABN 64 058 914 668

Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW

ISSN 0049-1470

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT

The Honourable Christopher John Kourakis, Chief Justice

The Honourable Malcolm Fraser Blue

The Honourable Timothy Laurence Stanley

The Honourable Anne Bampton

The Honourable David Lovell

The Honourable Samuel John Doyle

The Honourable Judy Hughes

The Honourable Mark Livesey

The Honourable Chris Bleby

The Honourable Sophie David

The Honourable Laura Stein

The Honourable Sandi McDonald

The Honourable Adam Kimber

The Honourable Julie McIntyre

ATTORNEY-GENERAL

The Honourable Kyam Maher

Copyright Notice

"All South Australian judgments reproduced in these reports are subject to copyright claimed by the Crown in Right of the Government of South Australia. Each judgment is reproduced with the permission of the South Australian Attorney-General. The South Australian Attorney-General does not accept responsibility for the accuracy of this reproduction. Judgments reproduced in these reports may be further reproduced as permitted by the Copyright Act 1968 (Cth). Judgments may only be reproduced on a commercial or 'for profit' basis with the Attorney-General's prior written consent."

Disclaimer

"Every effort has been made to comply with suppression orders or statutory provision prohibiting publication that may apply to this judgment. The onus remains on any person using material in the judgment to ensure that the intended use of that material does not breach any such order or provision. Further enquiries may be directed to the Registry of the Court from which it was issued."