2021-2022 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

The Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR
ERIC HEENAN SC

VOLUME 58

LAWBOOK CO.

2023

REPORTERS

ROBERT CLARKE
ETHAN HEYWOOD
AMY JOSEPH
HUGH KOPSEN
JAMES O'HARA
SHANE STEWART
GREGORY STOCKTON
KELLY ZHANG

PRODUCTION EDITOR ANNE MOK

© State of Western Australia (2023)

This publication is copyright. Except as permitted under the *Copyright Act 1968*, no part of this publication may be reproduced or communicated by any process without the prior written permission of the Attorney General of Western Australia.



2023 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

ISSN 0083-8764

Lawbook Co.

SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Chief Justice

THE HONOURABLE PETER DAMIEN QUINLAN

COURT OF APPEAL

President

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS

Judges

THE HONOURABLE GRAEME HAROLD MURPHY
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT ANTHONY MAZZA
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT MACKENZIE MITCHELL
THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH
THE HONOURABLE JANINE CLARE PRITCHARD
THE HONOURABLE JOHN CAMERON VAUGHAN

GENERAL DIVISION

Judges

THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE (retired 26 February 2022)

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN
THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN DAVID HALL
THE HONOURABLE EDWIN MICHAEL CORBOY
THE HONOURABLE JEREMY DAVID ALLANSON
THE HONOURABLE JEREMY CLIVE CURTHOYS
THE HONOURABLE PAUL ALLAN TOTTLE
THE HONOURABLE BRUNO FIANNACA
THE HONOURABLE JOSEPH McGRATH
THE HONOURABLE GAIL ANN ARCHER
THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY SAMUEL DERRICK
THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER HILDA SMITH
THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER MARY HILL
THE HON JUSTICE LARISSA MONIQUE STRK

THE HON JUSTICE MARCUS NATHAN SOLOMON (appointed 4 August 2021)

(appointed 1 July 2021)

Master

CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN

Editor

ERIC HEENAN SC

Members

C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC JOSHUA THOMSON SC