# 2021-2022 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN REPORTS

INCORPORATING WESTERN AUSTRALIAN LAW REPORTS

# The Authorised Law Reports of the SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

EDITOR
ERIC HEENAN SC

VOLUME 59

LAWBOOK CO.

2024

## REPORTERS

ETHAN HEYWOOD

AMY JOSEPH

HUGH KOPSEN

GREGORY STOCKTON

# PRODUCTION EDITOR ANNE MOK

# © State of Western Australia (2024)

This publication is copyright. Except as permitted under the *Copyright Act 1968*, no part of this publication may be reproduced or communicated by any process without the prior written permission of the Attorney General of Western Australia.



2024 Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited
ABN 64 058 914 668
Published in Sydney

ISSN 0083-8764

Lawbook Co.

### SUPREME COURT OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

### **Chief Justice**

THE HONOURABLE PETER DAMIEN QUINLAN

## COURT OF APPEAL

#### **President**

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL JOHN BUSS

### Judges

THE HONOURABLE GRAEME HAROLD MURPHY
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT ANTHONY MAZZA
THE HONOURABLE ROBERT MACKENZIE MITCHELL
THE HONOURABLE ANDREW ROBERT BEECH
THE HONOURABLE JANINE CLARE PRITCHARD
THE HONOURABLE JOHN CAMERON VAUGHAN
THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN DAVID HALL
(appointed 3 October 2022)

# GENERAL DIVISION Judges

THE HONOURABLE RENE LUCIEN LE MIERE (retired 26 February 2022)

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN
THE HONOURABLE EDWIN MICHAEL CORBOY
(retired 9 December 2022)

THE HONOURABLE JEREMY DAVID ALLANSON THE HONOURABLE JEREMY CLIVE CURTHOYS THE HONOURABLE PAUL ALLAN TOTTLE

THE HONOURABLE BRUNO FIANNACA
THE HONOURABLE JOSEPH McGRATH
THE HONOURABLE GAIL ANN ARCHER

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY SAMUEL DERRICK

THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER HILDA SMITH

THE HONOURABLE JENNIFER MARY HILL
THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE LARISSA MONIQUE STRK

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE MARCUS NATHAN SOLOMON (appointed 4 August 2021)

THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE AMANDA LOUISE FORRESTER (appointed 1 July 2022)

# THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE SAMUEL ALEXANDER VANDONGEN (appointed 2 November 2022)

# THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE MICHAEL GRANT LUNDBERG (appointed 23 November 2022)

#### Master

# CRAIG WILLIAM SANDERSON

## **EDITORIAL COMMITTEE**

Chairman

THE HONOURABLE KENNETH JAMES MARTIN

**Editor** 

ERIC HEENAN SC

Members

C L ZELESTIS, QC CG COLVIN SC JOSHUA THOMSON SC