2023-2024

THE

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY LAW REPORTS

THE AUTHORISED REPORTS OF DECISIONS OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

EDITOR
WAYNE SHARWOOD

ASSISTANT EDITOR
RICHARD DAVIES

VOLUME 21

LAWBOOK CO.

2025

SENIOR REPORTER RICHARD DAVIES

REPORTERS

DAVID ANTHONY PITTAVINO EMMA ROFF JB WOODYATT

PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR
MYUNG COLE



 $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ $\ \ \,$ ABN 64 058 914 668 $\ \ \,$ Published in Sydney

Printed by Ligare Pty Ltd, Riverwood, NSW ISSN 0813-7803

SUPREME COURT OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CHIEF JUSTICE

THE HONOURABLE LUCY McCALLUM

JUDGES

THE HONOURABLE DAVID MOSSOP

THE HONOURABLE CHRISSA LOUKAS-KARLSSON

THE HONOURABLE BELINDA BAKER

THE HONOURABLE VERITY ALEXANDRA McWILLIAM

THE HONOURABLE LOUISE TAYLOR

ADDITIONAL JUDGES FROM THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

THE HONOURABLE ANNA JUDITH KATZMANN

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ANDREW WIGNEY

THE HONOURABLE DARRYL RANGIAH

THE HONOURABLE BERNA COLLIER

THE HONOURABLE ROBERT JAMES BROMWICH

THE HONOURABLE NATALIE CHARLESWORTH

THE HONOURABLE KATRINA BANKS-SMITH

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL LEE

THE HONOURABLE THOMAS THAWLEY

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL WHEELAHAN

THE HONOURABLE ANGUS STEWART

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL O'BRYAN

THE HONOURABLE STEWART ANDERSON

THE HONOURABLE WENDY ABRAHAM

THE HONOURABLE PATRICK O'SULLIVAN

ACTING JUDGES

TIT	TIONIO	TID A D	1 T I	ROBERT	CDOME	
нн	$\mathbf{H}(1) \times (1)$	$\mathbf{H} \mid \mathbf{R} \mid \Delta \mid \mathbf{R} \mid$		KURHRI	(R)WH	\ 1

THE HONOURABLE PETER BERMAN

THE HONOURABLE AUDREY BALLA

THE HONOURABLE RICHARD REFSHAUGE

THE HONOURABLE JOHN BURNS

THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN NORRISH

THE HONOURABLE GREG CURTIN SC

THE HONOURABLE MICHAEL ELKAIM SC

THE HONOURABLE ANN AINSLIE-WALLACE

THE HONOURABLE STEPHEN KAYE

THE HONOURABLE REBECCA CHRISTENSEN SC

THE HONOURABLE ANTHONY HOPKINS